George A. Roberts Award

ASM Materials Education Foundation Trustees recognized the need to annually honor an individual who has made a significant impact on our ability to reach students and teachers to increase awareness of materials and applied science careers. To recognize the importance of educational outreach, Trustees established the George A. Roberts Award in 2003. The first recipient was its namesake, Dr. George A. Roberts, who served the materials community with great distinction for many years.

George A. Roberts Award Recipient

2016  Winner
Dr. Peggy E. Jones, FASM
Sr. Project Engineer General Motors
Saginaw, Michigan

Dr. Peggy E. Jones joined ASM International in 1979 as a student member at the University of Michigan, received her B.S. in metallurgical and materials engineering in 1982 then joined General Electric’s (GE) Aircraft Engines division.  She returned to graduate school full time in 1990 at the University of Dayton to complete her M.S. and Ph.D. in materials engineering.  Returning to GE in 1995, she completed her Ph.D. research.

Dr. Jones joined General Motors in 1998 where she brought fracture mechanics based design methods to automotive castings. Since joining GM, she has supported many new product designs for engine, transmission, and hybrid motor components. She holds seven U.S. patents and won GM’s highest technical award, the “Boss Kettering”, as part of a team working on ICME.

Peg has served on many ASM International committees, was Chair of Chapter Council, and is Chair of the Saginaw Valley Chapter. She was active in STEM outreach in Dayton teaching hands-on chemistry to six graders, is an active volunteer for the Teachers ASM Materials Camp, an organizer for students Materials Camps and she helped bring the “Foundry in a Box” metal casting experience to over 15,000 students in Michigan.

Peg considers her volunteer activities in STEM outreach a great joy and a small way to pay back teachers who opened the door to a rewarding career enriched by her treasured ASM colleagues.

Distinguished Awardees Include:

2016 – Dr. Peggy E. Jones, Ph.D, FASM
2015 – Ashok K. Khare, FASM
2014 – Mr. Michael B. Connelly, FASM
2013 – Dr. Donald R. Muzyka, FASM
2012 – Mrs. Frauke Hogue, FASM
2011 – Dr. Daniel P. Dennies, FASM
2010 – Edouard Duval
2009 – Dr. Kathy L. Hayrynen, Ph.D, FASM
2008 – Ms. Debbie Goodwin
2007 – Alton D. Romig, Jr., FASM
2006 – Dr. Thomas G. Stoebe, FASM
2005 – Aziz I. Asphahani, FASM
2004 – Jack G. Simon, FASM
2003 – George A. Roberts, FASM